Three Mediclinic hospitals in the Western Cape received Katrin Kleijnhans Quality Trophies from The Council for Health Service Accreditation of Southern Africa NPC (COHSASA) recently.

The Katrin Kleijnhans Trophy (pictured left) was instituted by COHSASA. It is awarded to an individual, a unit, a department or a discipline in a healthcare facility that has made the most impressive or substantial contribution to quality improvement during the COHSASA accreditation process. The recipient is not selected by COHSASA but chosen by an appropriate authority at the healthcare facility.

The 22-cm glass trophy honours the memory of COHSASA colleague, Dr Katrin Kleijnhans, who died in 2016 after a long illness. It is intended that the trophy carry forward her legacy and commemorate the enormous contribution that Dr Kleijnhans made to improving of the quality of health care in Africa.

The long-term goal of the award is that it becomes an annual internal floating trophy, given to a deserving recipient at the facility.

From left: Members of the TSEBO Housekeeping Team Chernay Hildebrandt (Contract manager); Margaret Williams; Brenda Jacobs; Ferensia Boer; Jermaine Solomons; Mariëtte Anthony; Naomi Magonga and Lillian Dirks.

First up was Mediclinic Paarl. The Hospital Manager, Jeanine Visser, presented the trophy to the TSEBO Housekeeping Team on 10 April 2019. Sr Riëtte Miller, the Unit Manager of Theatre, was the joint recipient of the award.

Manager of the Theatre Unit, Sr Riëtte Miller (Left) with Mrs Jeanine Visser (Hospital General Manager).



Mediclinic Vergelegen

Then it was the turn of Mediclinic Vergelegen which handed out the Katrin Kleijnhans Trophy on 25th April 2019 along with several other achievements by hospital staff.

Michelle Zietsman, Learning and Development Facilitator received the Katrin Kleijnhans Quality Trophy in 2019 at Mediclinic Vergelegen from COHSASA Communications Manager, Ms Marilyn Keegan.











Michelle Zietsman, Learning and Development Facilitator, received the Katrin Kleijnhans trophy for her sterling work in implementing the quality improvement and accreditation process at the hospital.


Representatives from all sections and units of Mediclinic Vergelegen received individual certificates for achieving compliance with the COHSASA standards. The afternoon was one of celebration at the excellent standards being maintained at this hospital.



Mediclinic Panorama

Staff at Mediclinic Panorama who were awarded the Katrin Kleijnhans trophy for improving quality in 2019 were (from left): Miss Mimi Mokgothu, Deputy Nursing Manager and Monique Leendertz-Lang, Support Services Manager. With them (centre) is Jacqui Stewart, the CEO of COHSASA.

The quality improvement gatekeepers at Mediclinic Panorama for clinical and administrative services were recognised for their work in quality and patient safety when they were rewarded at a short ceremony, organised by the hospital manager Riaan Vorster, at the hospital on May 7, 2019.