The following hospitals have received full accreditation from the Council for Health Service Accreditation of Southern Africa NPC (COHSASA), a not-for-profit company based in Cape Town.





  Mediclinic Muelmed

    Four Year Full Accreditation


20 May 2016 to

19 May 2020


  Arcadia, Tshwane,


  Mediclinic Medforum

    Four Year Full Accreditation 


20 May 2016 to

19 May 2020


  Sunnyside, Tshwane, Gauteng

  Mediclinic Victoria

  Three Year Full Accreditation

  13 Feb 2015 to

12 Feb 2018

  Tongaat, KwaZulu-Natal


The four-year accreditation awards (achieved by Mediclinic Muelmed in Arcadia, Tshwane and Mediclinic Medforum in Sunnyside, Tshwane) indicate that quality methods and compliance with standards are part of everyday operations in these hospitals – quality has been institutionalised because excellence has been maintained over time.

COHSASA has been evaluating healthcare facilities in Africa for the past 21 years. An accreditation award from COHSASA means the healthcare organisation has entered a quality improvement programme and has been assessed against, and met, standards recognised by the International Society for Quality in Health Care (ISQua). It also means that the facilities listed above are well placed to provide safe and quality care to the communities they serve.

COHSASA, its standards and its surveyor training programmes are accredited by the International Society for Quality in Health Care (ISQua), the global body overseeing accreditation and quality improvement programmes in healthcare.

For more information about COHSASA, see

Issued by Marilyn Keegan, Communications Manager for COHSASA

Telephone 021 531 4225 for further information