The Cohsasa Board

The Board of Directors is collectively accountable to the community, funders and other stakeholders for COHSASA’s performance in relation to its mission and strategic objectives and for the effective stewardship of its operations, including financial and human resources.

The Board meets four times a year and one of its main tasks is to ratify decisions taken by the Technical Committee regarding accreditation and graded recognition awards to be given to healthcare facilities.

Since COHSASA is a Non Profit Company (NPC), it has no share capital and its Board members receive no remuneration. The Board consists of a minimum of six and a maximum of 16 directors with a quorum of at least 75% of directors present or represented by proxy for valid decisions and resolutions.

Board Members are appointed for their knowledge, skills and experience in a particular field of endeavour and they include doctors, nurses, administrators and entrepreneurs drawn from both public and private sectors who are considered leaders in their field.

A Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson are elected from the ranks of the Board members to conduct meetings and assume leadership in decisions of policy and finance.

Mrs Sharon Slabbert

Mrs Sharon Slabbert (Chairperson)

Executive Officer: Health Services Delivery for the Hospital Association of South Africa.

Professor Gert J van Zyl  - Vice Chairperson

Professor Gert J van Zyl (Vice Chairperson)

Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of the Free State (UFS)

Dr Sibusiso Zuma

Senior Lecturer in the Department of Health Studies at the University of South Africa (UNISA).

Nhlanhla Nene

Former Minister of Finance of South Africa. He is now Chairman of ARISE BV and EMPACT Group (Pty) Ltd and a Non-Executive Director of Grobank.

Professor Ethelwynn Stellenberg

Professor Ethelwynn Stellenberg

Associate Professor of Nursing in Department of Nursing and Midwifery at University of Stellenbosch: Quality Management and Regulation, Co-ordinator Masters Programme, Risk Management in Health care.

Dr Brad Beira 

Managing Director of The Advisory Group and corporate advisor to several healthcare and medicolegal organisations in South Africa and internationally. Chairperson of Safe Surgery South Africa, Chairperson of Hospice Wits, and Corporate Advisor to South African Medicolegal Association.

Dr Gilbert Buckle

Dr Gilbert Buckle

Founding Member of The ISQua Academy of Quality and Safety in Health Care (IAQS)